scroll to top
Press enter or spacebar to select a desired language.

Marydean Martin Library Awarded Top Honor

Receives prestigious 2020 ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries Award

The Marydean Martin Library at Nevada State College has been recognized as one of the best college libraries in the nation. The Library is a recipient of the 2020 Excellence in Academic Libraries Award from the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). This award is the highest possible honor from the academic library professional community.

Nevada State College is the first Hispanic Serving Institution to win the college category of ACRL’s Academic Libraries Award. Additionally, it is the only academic library in the state of Nevada to be honored with the award. Past winners in the college category include Amherst, Wellesley, Swarthmore, Lafayette, and Oberlin. Nevada State is only the second public institution in award history to win in the college category, an achievement also made with the smallest team ever to win the award.

The Marydean Martin Library impressed the award committee with its digital transformation and dedication to textbook affordability.

“The Marydean Martin Library staff continually makes a positive impact across campus through developing strong relationships with faculty and student government,” said Cheryl Middleton, chair of the 2020 Excellence in Academic Libraries Committee. “Librarians are embedded in the campus curriculum and contribute to retention and graduation rates of a historically underrepresented population.”

“Our campus is thrilled to be recognized for this prestigious award,” said Nathaniel King, director of library services at Nevada State College. “Our library team is an exceptionally talented group. They are leaders in seeking creative ways to impact the academic success of our students. These efforts would not be possible without support from excellent campus leadership, dedicated and innovative faculty, and a wide range of incredible campus partners. We are very humbled to have our collective efforts recognized. Our deepest thanks to the work of the ACRL staff and the selection committee.”

Additional information regarding the award is available at